Alliance of Sport claims collaboration award

The Alliance of Sport in Criminal Justice won the Collaboration Award at the Legal & General 'Not A Red Card' Awards in London this week.

The Awards ceremony, held the Kia Oval, celebrated organisations and individuals that have developed and implemented best practices around addressing mental health in the workplace.

The Collaboration Award was created to recognise an organisation demonstrating cross-sector or cross-industry engagement with an initiative that brought together different stakeholders to address mental health in the workplace.

The Alliance of Sport’s Co-Founder and Chief Executive, James Mapstone, was among more than 200 leaders and change-makers at the event, which is now into its second year. The Awards received a fantastic number of high-quality entries from a broad range of applicants.

James commented: “The Alliance of Sport is extremely proud to have been recognised for collaboration, which is the core of what we’re about as an organisation.

“Ultimately our mission is to build a safer society through the use of sport in criminal justice and to support a reduction in violence, crime and re-offending.

“By fostering collaboration across the sector, building our evidence base and advancing policy and practice, we are empowering those working on the front line and positively impacting on physical and mental wellbeing across the criminal justice system.

“Mental health and crime and inextricably linked. That’s why, for example, we champion trauma-informed approaches that help staff working in Sport for Development to counteract the effects of Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) and guide participants towards a positive, crime-free life.”

The Not A Red Card judging panel brought together a group of mental health experts from across sport and business, from former professional footballer and PFA Chairman, Clarke Carlisle, and Sarah Hughes, Chief Executive of the Centre for Mental Health, to Antony Brown, CEO and founder of CBT Clinics.

For more information about the Not A Red Card awards, click here.